Jessica Anna Named Sloan Fellow

Jessica Anna, Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Elliman Faculty Fellow, has been named as a 2019 Sloan Research Fellow. These two-year fellowships are awarded yearly to 126 early-career scholars in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field.


The full list of Sloan Research Fellows is here.




Alumni Reception at APS Meeting in Boston

Tue, 2019-03-05 18:00 - 20:00

Tuesday, March 5, 2019

6:00 – 8:00 PM


The Westin Boston Waterfront

Room: Revere

425 Summer Street

Boston, MA 02210



Please RSVP to

Attached Document: 

Chris Murray Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Chris Murray, Richard Perry University Professor of Chemistry & Materials Science and Penn Integrates Knowledge Professor, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering. He joins the Academy for the invention and development of solvothermal synthesis of monodisperse nanocrystal quantum dots for displays, photovoltaics, and memory.


Biological Chemistry seminar: Yi-Wei Chang, University of Pennsylvania

Thu, 2019-02-14 15:00 - 16:00

Yi-Wei Chang

University of Pennsylvania


"Structural biology in situ by cellular electron cryotomography"

Electron cryotomography (ECT) enables intact cells to be visualized in 3D in an essentially native state to macromolecular (~4 nm) resolution. It has allowed us to visualize the structures of macromolecular machines in their native context inside intact cells. In many cases, such machines cannot be purified intact for in vitro study. In other cases, the function of a structure is lost outside the cell, so that the mechanism can be understood only by observation in situ. In this presentation, I will use bacterial secretion systems as examples to show how ECT can help us to understand important biological processes by doing structural biology directly inside cells.


Carolyn Hoff Lynch Room

Cret, Chemistry Complex

Penn Chemistry Distinguished Alumni Award (Michael Brown, UT Southwestern)

Wed, 2019-05-15 16:00
Michael Brown, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Lynch Lecture Hall

Edgar Fahs Smith Lecture (Amy Rosenzweig, Northwestern)

Thu, 2019-03-21 18:00
Amy Rosenzweig, Northwestern University
Lynch Lecture Hall

BMS Lecture (Melanie Sanford, Michigan)

Fri, 2019-02-15 14:00

Melanie Sanford, University of Michigan


Steven Wisniewski, Bristol Myers-Squibb

Lynch Lecture Hall
Attached Document: 

Physical Chemistry Seminar: Dr. Yihan Shao, University of Oklahoma

Thu, 2019-02-28 13:00 - 14:00

Dr. Yihan Shao

Carol Lynch Lecture Hall Chemistry Complex
Attached Document: 

"Modeling Substituent and Macromolecular Effects on the Molecular Electronic Structure"


NOBCChE Lecture: Levi Thompson (Delaware)

Fri, 2019-01-18 16:00

Prof. Levi T. Thompson

University of Delaware

Lynch Lecture Hall

Development of Non-Aqueous Redox Flow Batteries for Grid-Scale Energy Storage


Ivan Dmochowski named MacDiarmid Term Chair

Prof. Ivan J. Dmochowski as been named the Alan MacDiarmid Term Professor, effective January 1, 2019. The Alan MacDiarmid Term Chair was established in 2001 in honor of longtime chemistry professor Dr. Alan MacDiarmid.


Department of Chemistry

231 S. 34 Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6323

215.898.8317 voice | 215.573.2112 fax |

Syndicate content