Rachel Segalman, UC Berkeley; Inorganic Seminar

Tue, 2013-10-01 16:00 - 17:30

Lynch Lecture Hall; Chem. Dept.

Title: "Designing Polymer and Hybrid Thermoelectrics"

Marsha I. Lester to receive Garvan-Olin Medal

Marsha Lester is to receive the Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal which recognizes distinguished service to chemistry by women chemists. Marsha will be honored at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 18, 2014, in conjunction with the 247th ACS National Meeting in Dallas.

Larry Sneddon to receive F. Albert Cotton Award

Larry Sneddon is to receive the 2014 F. Albert Cotton Award which recognizes distinguished work in synthetic inorganic chemistry. Larry will be honored at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 18, 2014, in conjunction with the 247th ACS National Meeting in Dallas.

Gary Molander awarded Novartis Lectureship

Department Chair Gary Molander has been awarded a 2013-14 Novartis Lectureship. The Novartis Chemistry Lectureship is awarded to scientists in recognition of outstanding contributions to organic and computational chemistry, including applications to biology. It is intended to enhance the exposure of Novartis' chemical community to cutting edge chemistry.

Joanna Fowler, Brookhaven; Trustees' Council of Penn Women Lecture

Mon, 2014-09-15 16:00 - 17:00

Dr. Joanna S. Fowler

Brookhaven National Laboratory


Working Against Time: Rapid Radiotracer Chemistry and Imaging the Human Brain


Lynch Lecture Hall

Attached Document: 

Steven Wheeler, Texas A&M University; PChem Seminar

Thu, 2014-01-16 13:00 - 14:30

Lynch Lecture Hall; Chem. Dept.

Isaac Krauss, Brandeis University; Organic Seminar

Mon, 2014-02-17 12:00 - 13:30

Lynch Lecture Hall

Alumni Reception at ACS Meeting (Indianapolis)

Mon, 2013-09-09 16:00 - 18:00

Please join us in Indianapolis as Penn Chemistry attends the 247th ACS National Meeting. Reconnect with Penn Chemistry classmates, labmates, and fellow alumni.


Harry & Izzy's Downtown

153 S. Illinois Avenue

Indianapolis, IN 46225


Monday, September 9, 2013

4:00 - 6:00 PM


Please RSVP to


For more information, please contact Chris Jeffrey.

Amos Smith Awarded 2014 Nichols Medal

Amos B. Smith III has been selected to receive the 2014 William H. Nichols Medal by the New York Section of the American Chemical Society. This distinguished award, established in 1902 by Dr. William H. Nichols, for the purpose of encouraging original research in chemistry, is the first award authorized by the American Chemical Society. It is presented annually in recognition of an outstanding contribution in the field of chemistry.


A list of past recipients can be found here.

Jose Onuchic, UC San Diego; Physical Seminar

Thu, 2014-04-03 13:00 - 14:00

Austrian Auditorium

Inquiries please contact Rosa Vargas

Department of Chemistry

231 S. 34 Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6323

215.898.8317 voice | 215.573.2112 fax |

Syndicate content