Associate Professor Eric Schelter has been awarded a Postdoctoral Program in Environmental Chemistry from the Dreyfus Foundation. The award provides a principal investigator with a two year fellowship to appoint a Postdoctoral Fellow to perform fundamental research in the chemical sciences or engineering related to the environment. More information on the program can be found here.


Assistant Professor Zahra Fakhraai is part of an interdisciplinary team that received a five-year, $3.6 million grant from the National Science Foundation to develop materials for multifunctional coatings on emergency tents, enabling them to manage water, prevent the spread of bacteria and capture and store solar energy.



Prof. Madeleine Joullié's proposal for the Green and Sustainable Chemistry Challenge has made it to the semi-finals.


Of the 495 proposals submitted, the top 53 entries were selected based on the ratings of the reviewers. These 53 proposals have been sent to the scientific jury members and the jury will select the Top 5. The Top 5 contestants will be invited for the Green and Sustainable Chemistry Conference.


A new article by Virgil Percec and his research group on lectins selectively binding to different sugar structures is in the Spotlight in JACS. Read the article here.

Ben Partridge of the Percec group has been awarded a Howard Hughes Medical Institute International Student Research Fellowship. HHMI chooses 45 doctoral students to receive fellowships that will help them complete their graduate degrees in life sciences.

David Chenoweth and his research group were featured in Chemical & Engineering News for their work on strengthening and stabilizing collagen. Read the full article here.


Elsevier has announced that John Tellis of the Molander Group is one of just three winners of the 2015 Reaxys PhD Prize at the annual Symposium held at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.


The prize celebrates top research conducted by leading young chemists across the globe and recognizes innovative and original research in chemistry.


Stephanie Barros  of the Chenoweth Group is one of 10 recipients nationally of the Eli Lilly/WCC Travel Award. This highly-competitive award provides funding for female undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral fellows to travel to a national meeting and present their research. 


Stephanie was able to  travel to the ACS National Meeting in Boston, MA. In addition to her divisional presentation, she presented her work at an awardee poster session and was recognized at the WCC Luncheon.


Prof. Eric Schelter has been named as the recipient of the 2016 Harry Gray Award for Creative Work in Inorganic Chemistry by a Young Investigator by the American Chemical Society. The award was created to recognize creative and impactful work by a young investigator in a forefront area of inorganic chemistry, broadly defined. Eric will be honored at the ACS National Meeting in San Diego next Spring.


E. James Petersson, Eric J. Schelter, and Ivan J. Dmochowski have all been promoted.


James Petersson and Eric Schelter have been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure.


Ivan Dmochowski has been promoted to Professor.

Department of Chemistry

231 S. 34 Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6323

215.898.8317 voice | 215.573.2112 fax |