Congratulations to Patrick Walsh. He has been named the Alan G. MacDiarmid Term Chair effective January 1, 2008. 



E. James Petersson, NIH Postdoctoral Fellow at Yale University, has been appointed Assistant Professor of Chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania. He aims to develop and utilize chemical biology approaches toward the study of protein conformational changes, with an emphasis on neuroscience.


2008 American Chemical Society Awards to Penn Faculty: Jeff Bode will receive an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, William DeGrado will receive the Ralph F. Hirschmann Award in Peptide Chemistry, and Michael Klein will receive the Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry.


Ralph Hirschmann inducted into Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame! Inductees are recognized for their overall outstanding contribution to medicinal chemistry through a combination of research, teaching and service.


We are pleased to announce that Dr. Jeffrey W. Bode has joined the Chemistry faculty as Associate Professor. Jeff comes to us from the University of California, Santa Barbara where he has established a first-rate program in synthetic organic and bioorganic chemistry. In addition, Dr. Yoko Yamakoshi will also be joining the Penn faculty this year. Yoko's primary appointment will be in the Department of Radiology.


Professor Jeffrey Winkler receives the 2007 Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching of Organic Chemistry


Dr. Sally Mallory receives 2007 Dean's Award for Distiguished Teaching by Affiliated Faculty.


Robin Hochstrasser is the 2007 Recipient of ACS Ahmed Zewail Award.The Ahmed Zewail Award in Ultrafast Science and Technology Award is sponsored by the Ahmed Zewail Endowment Fund, established by Newport Corporation. Its purpose is to recognize outstanding and creative contributions to fundamental discoveries or inventions in ultrafast science & technology in areas of physics, chemistry, biology, or related fields.

Department of Chemistry

231 S. 34 Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6323

215.898.8317 voice | 215.573.2112 fax |