Jennifer Matsui, a fourth-year student in Prof. Gary Molander's research group has been selected to receive a Bristol Myers Squibb Graduate Research Fellowship. Jennifer currently studies an area around the development of a mild, photoredox-mediated C-H alkylation procedure of heteroarenes using a wide variety of primary, secondary, and tertiary alkyltrifluoroborates.


Megan Matthews has officially joined the Department as an Assistant Professor of Chemistry. Megan, a bioinorganic chemist and chemical biologist by training, joins Penn after a stint as a Merck postdoctoral fellow of the Helen Hay Whitney Foundation in Prof. Ben Cravatt's group at The Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, CA. Megan received her undergraduate degree in Chemistry from Miami University, and she performed her doctoral research with Profs. Marty Bollinger and Carsten Krebs at Penn State University.



Associate Professor Eric Schelter has been selected as the academic recipient of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 2017 Green Chemistry Challenge Award. The Green Chemistry Challenge Awards promote the environmental and economic benefits of developing and using novel green chemistry. Eric is receiving his award for his innovations in the recycling of rare earth metals.


More information can be found here.


The Department of Chemistry is deeply saddened to learn of the passing of Professor David Chandler of the University of California, Berkeley. Prof. Chandler spent two years on the faculty of the University of Pennsylvania before beginning his remarkable career at Berkeley.

Dan Mindiola, Presidential Professor of Chemistry, has named as a 2017 Guggenheim Foundation Fellow. More information on the Fellowship program can be found here.

Professor Madeleine Joullié has been selected to receive a 2017 Penn Provost Award for Distinguished Ph.D. Teaching and Mentoring. The award will be presented at a ceremony on Tuesday, April 25.
Roy and Diana Vagelos Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology David Christianson has been selected to receive a 2017 Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching. The award will be presented at a ceremony on Tuesday, April 25.

Karen I. Goldberg, the Nicole A. Boand Endowed Professor in Chemistry at the University of Washington, will be joining the Penn Chemistry Department in September 2017 as the first Vagelos Professor of Energy Research. Prof. Goldberg will also serve as Director of the new Vagelos Center for Energy Research.



The School of Arts and Sciences has named twenty 2017 Dean's Scholars from across the school. Three Chemistry students have been recognized.



Shi Liu, a recent graduate of Andrew Rappe's research group, has been awarded the prestigious Nicholas Metropolis Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Work in Computational Physics by the American Physical Society. The award was established to recognize doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in computational physics. Shi was also honored with the John G.

Department of Chemistry

231 S. 34 Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6323

215.898.8317 voice | 215.573.2112 fax |