Chemistry Faculty Promoted

E. James Petersson, Eric J. Schelter, and Ivan J. Dmochowski have all been promoted.


James Petersson and Eric Schelter have been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure.


Ivan Dmochowski has been promoted to Professor.

Eric Schelter Interviewed on Rare Earth Metals

Eric Schelter appeared on the Business News Network to discuss his recent discoveries on the recycling of rare earth metals. Link to the full interview is here.

Michel Miesch, Directeur de Recherche CNRS, Universite de Strasbourg, Special Organic Seminar

Fri, 2015-07-10 12:00 - 13:30
Lynch Room, UPenn Chem. Dept.

Graduate Student John Tellis Honored

John Tellis of the Molander group has been selected as one of 45 finalists for the Reaxys PhD Prize. The winners of the Reaxys Prize are talented PhD students or recent graduates conducting original and innovative research in synthetic chemistry with demonstrated excellence in methodology and approach. 


Workshop: Resumes, Interviewing, Industrial R&D

Thu, 2015-06-18 09:00 - 12:00
Dr. Page McAndrew Arkema
Room 2000 Vagelos

David Christianson Named Radcliffe Fellow

Professor David Christianson has been named the Elizabeth S. and Richard M. Cashin Fellow at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University. The Radcliffe Institute dedicated to creating and sharing transformative ideas across the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. The Fellowship Program annually supports the work of 50 leading artists and scholars. Only 3 percent of applicants were accepted.


Graduate Student Kyle Smith Honored

Kyle Smith, a second year graduate student in Dan Mindiola's lab, is being honored for his teaching. He was selected to receive a prestigious Penn Center for Teaching and Learning’s Graduate Fellowships for Teaching Excellence for 2015-16. He also received the Penn Prize for Excellence in Teaching by a Graduate Student and a Chemistry departmental TA award.

Amos Smith Honored by RCS

Prof. Amos B. Smith, III has been selected the receive the Perkin Prize for Organic Chemistry from the Royal Society of Chemistry. The Perkin Prize is awarded for sustained originality and achievement in research in the area of organic chemistry.


For more information, please visit the award page.

Distinguished Alumni Award Symposium: Madeleine Joullié

Mon, 2015-10-26 13:30 - 17:00
Barbara Czakó, MD Anderson Cancer Center – Bruce H. Lipschutz, University of California, Santa Barbara – Neil E. Schore, University of California, Davis
Lynch Lecture Hall
Attached Document: 

2015-16 Penn Chemistry Distinguished Alumni Award Symposium honoring Prof. Madeleine Joullié.

Alumni Event at ACS Meeting in Boston

Mon, 2015-08-17 18:30 - 20:30

Join us at the ACS National Meeting for an alumni social.


6:30-8:30 PM


Bastille Kitchen

49 Melcher Street

Boston, MA 02210


Please RSVP to

Department of Chemistry

231 S. 34 Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6323

215.898.8317 voice | 215.573.2112 fax |

Syndicate content