Physical Chemistry Seminar (Nimrod Moiseyev, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology)

Thu, 2016-04-14 13:00 - 14:00

Lynch Lecture Hall Chemistry Complex

Inquires please contact Camille Pride at

Mindiola Group Highlighted in Science

Research by Kyle Smith (of the Mindiola Group), Simon Berritt, director of the Chemistry HTE Facility, and collaborators on the borylation of methane has been featured in Science. The work demonstrates the potential to use methane, the most abundant hydrocarbon in the world, as a versatile chemical building block. The full story is here

Joe Subotnik Named Guggenheim Fellow

Associate Professor Joe Subotnik has been named a 2016 Guggenheim Fellow.


Since its establishment in 1925, the Guggenheim Foundation has granted more than $300 million in Fellowships to thousands of individuals, many of whom have gone on to receive other major internationally recognized honors and become members of the various national academies.

CBI Retreat

Mon, 2016-06-13 10:00 - 18:00
Keynote Speaker: Dr. Lawrence Shapiro (Columbia)
Bryn Mawr College

Special Organic Seminar: Seth Herzon (Yale)

Wed, 2016-04-13 13:00 - 14:00

Prof. Seth Herzon

Yale University

Lynch Lecture Hall
Attached Document: 

Synthetic and Translational Studies of Bioactive Natural Products


Join Intel for Pizza and a Tech Talk presented by Dr. Jack Hwang and Janelle Villone (Logic Technology Development Group)

Mon, 2016-04-04 14:00 - 15:30
Join Intel for Pizza and a Tech Talk presented by Dr. Jack Hwang and Janelle Villone (Logic Technology Development Group)
Intel is seeking candidates for Proces

Pat Walsh and Jeff Winkler Receive Teaching Awards

Prof. Patrick Walsh and Prof. Jeffrey Winkler have both been honored by the School of Arts and Sciences for their exceptional teaching and mentorship.


Patrick Walsh is a recipient of the Dean's Award for Mentorship of Undergraduate Research. This award is presented to SAS standing faculty members for meaningful engagement of undergraduate students in research due to exceptional nurturing and facilitating by faculty.


Graduate Student Mike Noss Honored

Michael Noss, graduate student in Prof. Don Berry's research group, has received an SAS Dean's Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Graduate Student. Up to ten of these awards are presented annually to graduate students in the arts and sciences in recognition of their contributions to undergraduate teaching.

Graduate Students Honored with NSF Fellowships

Three graduate students from the Chemistry Department received Graduate Research Fellowships from the National Science Foundation. The NSF named 2,000 Fellows from 488 institutions from more than 17,000 nominations. The Chemistry winners are:


Grace Panetti (Schelter/Walsh Groups)

Rebecca Wiles (Molander Group)

Lauren Grant (Mindiola Group)


Receiving honorable mentions were:


Alex Weberg (Tomson Group)

Alex Kellum (Smith Group)

Althea Gaffney (Smith Group)

Katie Crocker (Winkler Group)


Physical Chemistry Seminar (Arthur Bragg, John Hopkins University)

Thu, 2016-03-24 13:00 - 14:00

Lynch Lecture Hall Chemistry Complex

Inquires please contact Camille Pride at

Department of Chemistry

231 S. 34 Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6323

215.898.8317 voice | 215.573.2112 fax |

Syndicate content